Cal sweeps Pac-12 honors – California Golden Bears Athletics


Ollie Maclean won Pac-12 Athlete of the Year honors, as announced by the conference office Friday afternoon.

Four Bears Win All-Conference Honors

SAN FRANCISCO- Cal’s men’s rowing team swept playoff honors as announced by the conference office Friday afternoon. Senior Ollie Maclean was named Male Athlete of the Year, Freshman Gennaro de Mauro was named Newcomer of the Year and Head Coach Scott Frandsen won Coach of the Year honors.

Maclean was joined by senior Elliott Kempand juniors Angus Dawson and Crouching Campbell on the All-Pac-12 team.

Maclean’s return to action has been instrumental in Cal’s success this year. He sat in all five 8+ college spots in every run and was instrumental in helping the Bears retake the Schoch Cup and win all 16 in the program.and Pac-12 Championship. He is the seventh member of the California rowing program to win Athlete of the Year and the first since Natan Wegrzycki-Szymczyk won it for the third straight year in 2018.

Di Mauro had an instant impact on the Bears V8+ range. The 6-foot-10 native of Sant’Anastasia, Italy, has rowed in all four spots for every race this year for the Bears, including the open water win over No. 3 Washington at the UW dual and Pac- 12. He becomes the ninth rower from California to win this award.

Kemp, Campbell and Dawson have all been recognized in all conferences for their impact on Bear’s top-ranked V8+. Kemp, a four-time letter winner for the Bears, earns his first all-conference honor after serving seven. Juniors Dawson and Campbell also earn their first all-conference honors. Dawson rowed in the three-seater for the Bears, while Campbell sat in the front seat.

For the head coach Scott Frandsen, this is his first Coach of the Year award. He becomes the third coach in program history to win the award. Steve Gladstone has won it four times and Mike Teti won once.

Cal has won Pac-12 honors only once in program history. It was 2016 when Wegrzycki-Szymczyk was named Athlete of the Year, Joachim Sutton was named Newcomer of the Year and Teti won Coach of the Year.

The Bears will be back in action on Friday, June 3 for opening day of the IRA National Championships at Mercer Lake in West Windsor Township, NJ

For full coverage of Cal men’s rowing, please follow the Bears on Twitter (@calm rowing), Instagram (@calm rowing) and Facebook (


About Author

Comments are closed.