Powell River Academy of Music Announces Scholarship Winners


Seventeen young musicians performed for scholarships at the annual meeting Powell River Academy of Music Scholarship competition on May 14. The academy runs the contest for students 18 and under.

Pianists included Leeya deVilliers, Madyx Whiteway, Logan Muzylowski, Georgia Clark, Orielle Clark, John Carlson, Matvei Zonov, Timofei Zonov, Yoshun Kita-Sternberg, Hope Alescio, Luka Konstantonis, Liam Harding and Jaid Kirzakow.

The recipient of the Daryl and Doreen Smith Scholarship awarded in Junior Piano (12 and under) was DeVilliers, with Carlson chosen as the finalist. Honorable mentions went to Clark and Harding.

Kirzakow received the Lillian Dickson Memorial Scholarship, awarded in senior piano (ages 13–18). Runner-up was Whiteway with an honorable mention to Alescio.

Instrumental performers included Cecilia Gao, Shunsei Kita-Sternberg, Kyla DeVilliers and Leandre Browne.

DeVilliers received the Mr. and Mrs. Derry Simpson Scholarship, awarded in Junior Instrumental (12 and under), with Gao and Kita-Sternberg named finalists.

The scholarship money is generously donated by patrons and teachers and will help students with their future studies, according to academy administrator Carrie Lanigan.


About Author

Comments are closed.